top of page
The Season of Anya

What are the 8 Limbs of Yoga? Spiritual Yoga for Witches

8 Limbs of Yoga | The Season of Anya Witchcraft for Beginners |
8 Limbs of Yoga | The Season of Anya Witchcraft for Beginners | Spiritual Yoga Witch |

What are the 8 Limbs of Yoga? Spiritual Yoga for Witches

Welcome back darlings, I've missed you! Okay fine, it's only been a couple days, but you can accept my love either way. lol. Today we are going to discuss What are the 8 Limbs of Yoga, one of the many important philosophies for Spiritual Yoga for witches, yogis and other spiritual practicioners. We've already discussed <<<insert the chakra system video YouTube>>>> Today we are going to discuss another philosophy of Yoga called the 8 limbs of Yoga.

The eightfold path, also known as the eight limbs of yoga, is yet another integral part of this practice. These limbs serve as a guiding light, a personal code of conduct for yogis to develop a harmonious relationship with their mind, body, and the universe. In this blog, we will dive deep into the concept of the eight limbs of yoga and how it can transform your life. Remember Yoga Witches, when we put in the necessary work to transformers and empower ourselves, we are able to pass this information to our friends family, and community, thus creating a better world.

Heal yourself. Heal others. Heal the world.

Lets begin...

What are the 8 Limbs of Yoga?

Unsure where to start with your beginner yoga practice? The 8 Limbs of Yoga is a great place!

1. Yama

The first limb of yoga is Yama or the moral code of ethics. It consists of five principles: Ahimsa (non-violence), Satya (truthfulness), Asteya (non-stealing), Brahmacharya (celibacy), and Aparigraha (non-attachment). Practicing these principles allows us to live a more peaceful and compassionate life towards ourselves and others.

2. Niyama

The second limb of yoga is Niyama or the guidelines for personal conduct. It consists of five principles: Saucha (cleanliness), Santosha (contentment), Tapas (self-discipline), Svadhyaya (self-study), and Ishvara Pranidhana (surrender to a higher power). Practicing these principles helps us to cultivate self-awareness and live a more fulfilling life.

3. Asana

The third limb of yoga is Asana or physical postures. It is the practice of physical poses that help us to maintain physical health, flexibility, and strength. Practicing asanas also helps us to calm the mind and prepare for meditation.

4. Pranayama

The fourth limb of yoga is Pranayama or breath control. It is the practice of controlling the breath to calm the mind, reduce stress, and improve lung capacity. This practice also helps to energize the body and increase mental clarity.

5. Pratyahara

The fifth limb of yoga is Pratyahara or the withdrawal of senses. This practice involves turning inward and detaching from external stimuli. By practicing Pratyahara, we can reduce distractions and focus on our inner being.

6. Dharana

The sixth limb of yoga is Dharana or concentration. It is the practice of focusing the mind on a single object or thought. Practicing Dharana helps us to cultivate mental clarity and improve our ability to concentrate.

<<<<<6 and 7 look the same????>>>>>>

7. Dhyana

The seventh limb of yoga is Dhyana or meditation. It is the practice of deepening the concentration to enter a meditative state. Practicing Dhyana helps us to experience inner peace, clarity, and develop a deeper connection with the universe.

8. Samadhi

The eighth and final limb of yoga is Samadhi or enlightenment. It is the state of complete union with the universe, where the individual self merges with the universal consciousness. Through the practice of the eight limbs of yoga, we can attain this state of enlightenment.

The eight limbs of yoga serve as a comprehensive guide to living a more peaceful, fulfilling, and spiritually enriched life. Each limb represents a different aspect of yoga that, when practiced, can lead to personal transformation. The beauty of this practice is that there is no right or wrong way to approach it. Whether you are a beginner or a seasoned practitioner, the eight limbs of yoga offer something for everyone. So, let's start our journey towards self-discovery and embody the yogic principles every day.

Which limb of yoga struck you as the most interesting? The concept of Niyama fares very interesting to me because of all that it encompasses as it's very much that mind, body, spirit vibe. I also need to engage more pratayahaaa in my practice, as I sit here with 5 million things going on while writing this blog post.

Be sure to check out my YouTube channel The Season of Anya to discover more spiritual yoga tips and tricks xoxoxo


Recent Posts

See All


Witchcraft for Beginners & Spiritual Yoga Blog

bottom of page