top of page
The Season of Anya

An Easy Understanding of the Tarot Suits

Easy Understanding of the Tarot Suits | The Season of Anya Witchcraft for Beginners |
Easy Understanding of the Tarot Suits | The Season of Anya Witchcraft for Beginners | Spiritual Yoga Witch |

An Easy Understanding of the Tarot Suits

Hey fam, it's been a while since I've touched base on tarot, so here we go! In today's post we will be discussing the Four Elements in Tarot, also known as the tarot suits and I will be providing you an easy understanding of each suite. With that said, my interpretation of tarot is very simplistic, it's all about how it feels in the moment and what the cards, and the how energy of each card is speaking to you.

Tarot has always held a mystical fascination for those seeking guidance and insight into their lives, and for good reason. It speaks to our innermost feelings and thoughts, revealing hidden truths and revealing our deepest desires. With the 78 cards in the deck, the Tarot can be daunting to understand, but by taking a closer look at the four suits and elements represented in them, we can gain a deeper understanding of the messages and meanings in our readings.

With that said, this tarot series is meant to serve as a foundation of tarot. This isn't an academic approach to tarot, but rather an intuitive approach, which for me, has made tarot easy and understanding. I will probably say this a million times in this series, but when trying to learn tarot, just throw the damn book away, as my mentor put it to me many years ago.

It's frustrating to not "know" the answers when inquiring with the tarot, but that's kind of the point. It's not a black and white answer that you can seek in a book. Working with our intuition is a very complex and simple idea. If what we're picking up on in the moment feels right, then that's how we begin to utilize tarot.

With that said, if you haven't already, do check out my Picking Out A Tarot Deck post, because when you find a deck that really speaks to you, it will be a lot easier to intuitively understand and connect with its meanings. Go ahead and give it a read.

The Season of Anya Witchcraft for Beginners |
The Elementals | The Season of Anya Witchcraft for Beginners | Spiritual Yoga Witch |

What are the Four Tarot Suits and their Elements?

The four suits in the Tarot represent the four elements - Wands represent fire, Cups water, Swords air, and Pentacles earth. Each suite contains ten numbered cards plus four court cards. These cards are often associated with specific areas of our lives and reflect our passions, emotions, thoughts, and material possessions. Understanding the meaning of the suits, their elements, and how they influence the cards when they appear in readings can provide us with valuable insights into our current situations and offer guidance for future decisions.


The Wands suite represents fire and is associated with our passions and desires, inspiration, creativity, and energy. The Wands cards often represent ideas, business ventures, and projects that require initiative, ambition, and enthusiasm to succeed. When this suite appears in readings, it suggests the need for action, motivation and taking charge of situations to achieve desired outcomes.


Cups represent water and are associated with our emotions, feelings, and relationships. The Cups suite often appears in readings that focus on love, friendships, and emotional connections. The cards in this suite often depict the joys and sorrows of relationships and recommend that we connect with our feelings and take care of our emotional needs.


Swords represent air and are associated with our thoughts, ideas, and beliefs. They often appear in readings that require clarity, truth, and objectivity. These cards can be challenging as they sometimes reveal our hidden fears and negative thoughts. However, they also suggest the need for decision-making and the use of our intellect and reason in our lives.


Pentacles represent earth and are associated with our material possessions, finances, and work. The Pentacles suite focuses on everything related to the material world - from money and career to our physical environment and possessions. The cards in this suite often suggest practical thinking, hard work, and determination to achieve long-term material goals.

Sometimes when things are challenging or overwhelming, breaking it down into sections can help gain a greater understanding. For more Tarot tips and tricks on understanding your deck, check out my Youtube Choosing a Tarot Deck thank you so much for subscribing.

What's your biggest challenge in understanding tarot? Do you struggling with any of the suits? Keep an eye out for future blog series on Tarot! Be sure to join my email list to get updates on future posts!


Recent Posts

See All


Witchcraft for Beginners & Spiritual Yoga Blog

bottom of page